Carroll Abbott advocated the formation of the Native Plant Society of Texas in his quarterly publication Texas Wildflower Newsletter. After the Society was created in 1980, a free subscription to Abbott’s newsletter was provided as a benefit to all members. His declining health eventually prompted Abbott to request that the Society start its own newsletter.

Beginning in 1983 our own official publication has documented the evolution of the native plant movement and the Native Plant Society of Texas. The publication has had several slightly different names and formats over the years. By 2005 it had evolved into a full-color glossy magazine.

We are pleased to offer a complete set of PDF files for all issues. The issues are organized into groups by editor. Please click on one of the links below to view an index of the archives in that group.

Texas Wildflower Newsletter Carroll Abbott

May 1983 – April 1984  Jim Hunt

May 1984 – April 1987  Manuel Florez

May 1987 – October 1990  Patty Leslie

November 1990 – October 1994  Melinda Larsen

November 1994 – October 1995  Carol Hendricks

November 1995 – October 1997  Bill Bisbee 

November 1997 – April 1999  Pat Ploegsma

May 1999 – December 1999  Karen Enyedy

January 2000 – December 2000  Bill Scheick

January 2001 – June 2001  Kelly Sennheiser

July 2001 – December 2004  Cheri Richardson 

January 2005 – December 2008  Carol Perry

January 2009 – December 2010  Rick Rosen

Winter 2011 – Fall 2013  Bill Hopkins

Winter 2014 – Spring 2017 Stephen Brueggerhoff

Beginning Summer 2017 Heidi Gigler Roure