Join / Renew / Gift


Native Plant Society of Texas

State Board Awards of Appreciation and Merit

Awards of Appreciation

1982, Dr. Kenneth Fry
1983, Billie Thompson
1986, Bettye Jane Dodds
1986, Benny J. Simpson
1987, Vernon Wesby
1987, Jim Holmes
1990, Patty Leslie
1990, Andy Wasowski
1995, Carol Hendrick
2005, Mike McBride and Dar Richardson
2021, Suzanne Tuttle, Deedy Wright, Meg Inglis for developing the Native Landscape Certification Program Class “Stewardship of Native Plant Communities”; and Becca Dickstein for over fifteen years of writing the “NICE Plant of The Season” information sheets for the Trinity Forks Chapter
2022, Gary Bowers, Williamson County Chapter, for making the Wilco Chapter a model of efficiency and adaptation during changing times, the chapter’s technology and methods are trailblazing models for others to follow.

Native Star Memorial Award

The Native Star Memorial Award is given to an organization or agency for a specific act of conservation or public service.

  • 2014, Friends of the Tandy Hills Natural Area for their Kids on the Prairie program directed by Anne Alderfer.
  • 2015, Houston Chapter of the Native Prairie Association of Texas and the Bayou Land Conservancy, for their work in preserving Lawther Deer Park Prairie
  • 2016, Friends of the Tandy Hills Natural Area for sponsoring the Tandy Hills Bioblitz organized by Deborah Young.
  • 2017, Texas Department of Transportation for the Monarch Waystations at the Interstate 35 Safety Rest Areas
  • 2018, George Ozuna, Olivia Tapia and The Salsa Squad for their work at Medina River Natural Area
  • 2019, Marathon Petroleum Corporation for their on-site projects that enhance pollinator and migratory bird habitats
  • 2020, Cemex Corporation for creation of the Balcones Dry Comal Creek and Wildlife Habitat Center
  • 2021, Jamie Ford and CVHS Sky Prairie Students for the transformation of the Carnegie Vanguard High School’s campus’s green roof into a coastal prairie and pollinator garden through work in the Scientific Research and Design course
  • 2022, City of Frisco Urban Forestry, the Blackland Prairie Master Naturalist Chapter, the Lewisville Aquatic Ecosystem Research Facility and Rick and Lisa Travis, for partnership efforts in the rescue of “Asclepias” spp. plants, nurturing and successfully transplanting 300 plants to the Frisco Stewart Creek Wetlands Preserve.

Digital Media Memorial Award

The Digital Media Memorial Award recognizes outstanding digital publications featuring Texas native plants.

  • 2014, Meredith O’Reilly for her blog Great Stems.
  • 2015, Steven Schwartzman for his photography website Portraits of Wildflowers
  • 2016, Michael Eason for his Facebook group page Texas Flora
  • 2017, Bill Hopkins for ten years as editor of the website
  • 2018, City of Frisco, Frisco Garden Club, and Molly Kinson for digital publications featuring native plants
  • 2019, Dr Mark Vorderbruggen for his website Foraging Texas
  • 2020. Don Young for his blog Prairie Notes
  • 2021, Linda Leinen for the blog “Lagniappe” Images and Incidentals, featuring descriptions and photographs of Texas native plants
  • 2022, Tom Lebsack for his website: Texas Wildbuds, a collection of Texas wildflower photos taken around the state with most from Central Texas and Big Bend.

Honorary Life Membership

1984, Carroll Abbott
1995, Lynn Lowrey

Resolution in Memoriam

1984, Carroll Abbott

Award of Appreciation with Honorary Life Membership

1986, Lady Bird Johnson
1986, Dr. Mary Evelyn Blagg-Huey
1989, Bettye Jane Dodds
2003, Dorothy Mattiza
2004, Kate Hillhouse
2005, Sally and Andy Wasowski
2006, Sue Wiseman
2018, Pam Middleton

Award of Recognition

1988, Benny J. Simpson