Join / Renew / Gift


Native Plant Society of Texas

Awards, Honors and Contests

The Native Plant Society of Texas recognizes both individuals and organizations with its annual awards and contests.

Memorial Awards are selected by the Awards Committee chaired by the president-elect. The committee provides an online form each year that is open from March 1 to May 31 for Society members and the public to submit nominations of worthy candidates. 

The State Board has the option to choose to recognize outstanding service by an individual or group with special awards. These awards are given only when merited. 

Presidential awards are at the discretion of the president of the Society and are optional.

Benny J. Simpson Fellows are members elected annually by ballot by their fellow members for exceptional Society work at the state or local level. 

The Contest Committee organizes and judges the following annual competitions; video, photography and chapter newsletters.

All award recipients and contest winners are recognized during our fall symposium either at our annual state meeting of members or our annual awards banquet. 

Awards: News & Announcements

Annual awards for 2021 announced

Our annual awards for 2021 honor extraordinary people from all over Texas who have done amazing things that in some way, shape, or form champion our mission

Our Annual Awards

Benny J. Simpson Fellows

The Benny J. Simpson Fellows Award is presented to a member for service and work for the enrichment of the Society at the state, regional or chapter level. It is

Read More »

Digital Media Awards Recipients

Visit these internet resources for award winning digital publications featuring Texas native plants! Table of Contents 2022: Tom Lebsack for his website: “Texas Wildbuds”, a collection of Texas wildflower photos

Read More »

Memorial awards

Recognizing achievements in the field of native plants The Native Plant Society of Texas presents awards to recognize excellence in writing, acts of conservation and public service, and lifetime achievement

Read More »

Presidential awards

Kate Hillhouse Chapter of the Year Award Awarded by the President to the chapter that has best exemplified the mission of the Society in the previous year. 1993, Trinity Forks

Read More »

State Board Awards of Appreciation and Merit

Awards of Appreciation 1982, Dr. Kenneth Fry1983, Billie Thompson1986, Bettye Jane Dodds1986, Benny J. Simpson1987, Vernon Wesby1987, Jim Holmes1990, Patty Leslie1990, Andy Wasowski1995, Carol Hendrick2005, Mike McBride and Dar Richardson2021,

Read More »