Native Plant Society of Texas


The Fredericksburg chapter of the Native Plant Society of Texas

invites you to explore the heart of our native Edwards Plateau ecosystem.

Willkommen ~ Welcome

We are Hill Country!

Draw an equilateral triangle. Austin and San Antonio anchor the easternmost points.

The triangle climbs into the hill country and onto the Edwards Plateau, its tip touching Fredericksburg and Gillespie County.

The pink dome of Enchanted Rock rises to the north of us.

This entire area is an intricate patchwork of oak and juniper woodlands,

savannas interwoven with grasslands, tree mottes and shrubs. Always native blossoms stand ready to amaze the viewer.

Ours is truly a rich and diverse natural heritage.

The chapter holds its monthly meetings on the 4th Tuesday of the month at St. Joseph’s Halle (212 W. San Antonio St., Fredericksburg). 
The public is invited to attend in person or via Zoom.

6:30 greeting friends new and old

7:00 ~ This month ‘s business meeting & presentation:

St. Joseph’s Halle,

212 W San Antonio St,  Fredericksburg.

If your day doesn’t quite manage in-person attendance,

Join the meeting with ZOOM @ 7:00 p.m.

or use

 Meeting ID: 959 802 9940 on your zoom app.

How to Plant and Care for Trees – May 23 chapter meeting

The May 23rd speaker, Robert Edmonson a Texas A&M Forest Service Biologist,
addresses his favorite subject: TREES
His presentation outlines their importance to us and the wildlife that share the environment with us; explains how trees grow and the stresses they are under; and describes what we can do to support those trees in our care.

Read More »

Contact the Fredericksburg Chapter

Hi,  Please join our conversation and our monthly meeting. Our vision is restoring and protecting the native plant heritage of our Texas landscape. Do you have ideas or questions about using plants native to this ecosystem in your garden or landscape. We accomplish so much more when we are working as a group.

Drop us a line.


  • Deborah Simmons, President  
  • Paula Stone, Vice-President
  • Diane O’Neill, Membership Director
  • Julie Althaus Crawford, Treasurer
  • Barbara Romano, Secretary
  • Holly Simonette, Communication
  • Education – position unfilled

Committee Chairs

  • Kim Lewis, Grants and Donations Coordinator
  • Denise Coulter, Webmaster

Board Meetings

Official board meetings are held on the third Tuesday of the month in the St. Joseph’s Halle meeting room. Members are welcome. Please contact any board member for the scheduled time if you wish to attend.