State board

The Native Plant Society of Texas is governed by a State Board which meets quarterly. The State Board consists of one voting representative from each of the chapters plus officers who are elected at an annual membership meeting. State Board meetings are open to all members.

  • President Bill Hopkins, Gordon
  • President-elect Linda Knowles, Houston
  • VP Administration Theresa Thomas, Haltom City
  • VP Advocacy Ricky Linex, Weatherford
  • VP Chapter Liaison Dennis Perz, Georgetown
  • VP Communications Stephen Brueggerhoff, Round Rock
  • VP Education Deedy Wright, New Braunfels
  • VP Environmental Liaison Kevin Janni, Arlington
  • VP Finance Cecil Carter, Denton
  • Past President Lonnie Childs, Fredericksburg

Staff and appointed positions are non-voting members of the board.

  • Office Coordinator Pam Middleton
  • Awards Committee Chair Linda Knowles
  • Audit Committee Chair Betsy Farris
  • Bring Back the Monarchs Project Director Cathy Downs
  • Botanical Advisor Jason Singhurst
  • Historian Harriet Horton
  • Librarians Gerin and Dell Hood
  • Native Landscape Certification Program Coordinator Meg Inglis
  • Native Landscape Certificate Program Steering Committee Chair Carol Feldman
  • Newsletter Editor Stephen Brueggerhoff
  • Nominations Committee Chair Lonnie Childs
  • Operation NICE! Coordinator Theresa Thomas
  • Symposium Resource Cynthia Maguire
  • Texas Native Plant Week Committee Chair Cindy Stone
  • Volunteer Coordinator Jane Crone
  • Webmaster Bill Hopkins


The State Board meets on the third Saturday in the months of January, April, July and October; unless a different day is announced. The meeting location is moved around the state.